Thirteen SRU faculty earn ACUE educator credential


August 30, 2023

Thirteen Slippery Rock University faculty members are part of the first cohort at SRU to become credentialed educators by the Association of College and University Educators, which is the only nationally recognized collegiate teaching credential endorsed by the American Council on Education. To earn the ACUE credential, the faculty members learned evidence-based teaching practices by completing four, eight-week courses offered through SRU’s Center for Teaching and Learning. The following SRU ACUE Credentialed Educators were recognized at a pinning ceremony, Aug. 15, in the Vincent Science Center at the CTL’s annual fall semester kickoff professional development series:

  • Angela Bernardo, associate professor of safety management.

  • Christopher Gioia, assistant professor of physics and engineering.

  • Dallas Jackson, associate professor of physical and health education.

  • Shah Limon, assistant professor of physics and engineering.

  • Kathleen Melago, professor of music.

  •  Tami Micsky, assistant professor of social work.

  •  Heather Rapp, assistant professor of physician assistant studies.

  •  Amy Rickman, associate professor of exercise science and athletic training.

  •  Raed Seetan, associate professor of computer science.

  • Jheng-Wun Su, assistant professor of physics and engineering.

  • Alexander Ufelle, associate professor of public health.

  • Salwa Vandegrift, instructor of languages, literatures, cultures, and writing.

  • Jun Zhang, associate professor of physics and engineering.