Bian and Leight win SHAPE PA awards


Nov. 7, 2023

Wei Bian, a Slippery Rock University associate professor of physical and health education, and
Joanne Leight, an SRU professor of physical and health education, were both recently selected
for awards offered by the Society of Health and Physical Educators of Pennsylvania.

Bian was selected as the 2023 SHAPE Pennsylvania's University Physical Education Teacher of
the Year for her dedication to teaching authentically and her continued involvement in the
community. Leight was chosen as the 2023 Elmer B. Cottrell Award winner for her
demonstration of commitment and involvement in the physical and health education

Bian and Leight were honored at the SHAPE PA conference award ceremony, Oct. 26-27, in
Manheim. SHAPE PA is a volunteer-run organization dedicated to promoting and enhancing
health and physical education across the state of Pennsylvania.