Five SRU women and allies of distinction recognized


April 8, 2022

Slippery Rock University’s President’s Commission on Women and the Gender Studies Program presented its 2022 Women and Ally of Distinction Award Winners, March 29, at the Smith Student Center Ballroom. The awards, selected by a subcommittee of the PCW, recognize women and allies who focus on inclusion and respect for all; serve as role models through their creativity, leadership, compassion and dedication; and make campus or their communities a better place with their talents, vision and determination.

Faculty recipients included Jennifer Keller, professor of dance, and Christine Pease-Hernandez, associate professor of strategic communication and media. The student recipient was Amanda Reichert, a senior dual psychology and interdisciplinary programs major from Erie. The alumna recipient was Elise Michaux, '11, '13M, who earned a bachelor's degree at SRU in English literature and master's in student affairs in higher education, and currently serves as an SRU trustee. The Ally of Distinction Award was presented to Jake Rowe, a senior cybersecurity major from Warrington.

More information about the PCW and the Gender Studies Program is available on the SRU website.